Up, Up and Away at The New Arthurs Seat Chairlift, Arthurs Seat, Victoria, Australia
The History of Arthurs Seat

Arthurs Seat was named after a similar mountain of the same name rising above the eastern suburbs of Edinburgh, the capital of Scotland. When George Bass discovered the passage between Tasmania and the Australian mainland in 1798, the British government felt it was necessary to explore and map its coastline.

Lieutenant John Murray sighted the opening to Port Phillip Bay on 4th January 1802, but as the current was too strong did not enter the bay. He sent Chief Officer John Bowen to discover if there was a safe passage through the gap. On 4th February 1802, Bowen reported there was a good channel leading to 'a notable sheet of water'.


The Old Cottage


On 15th February Murray entered the bay in the ship Lady Nelson, and named the highest mountain hulking over the bay 'Arthurs Seat'. Later Captain Mathew Flinders entered what he thought was Westernport Bay through Port Phillip heads and climbed Arthurs Seat on 27th April 1802. It was not until 1896 that a rough track was made to the summit of Arthurs Seat, and then the first resident, James Chapman, farmer and orchardist settled on top of the mountain. A properly graded road was built to the summit in 1929 and the lookout tower was opened for the public in 1934.